Kansas City
A- A A+


  • July 23, 2013 - SSH-Kansas City Receives AARC Quality Respiratory Care Designation

    Select Specialty Hospital-Kansas City has been an active member of the American Association for Respiratory Care "Quality Respiratory Care Recognition" Program for the past 5 years. (2009 to 2013)


    The QRCR program is a national effort by American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) to help patients make informed decisions about hospitals providing quality respiratory care services. The hospital has earned the QRCR designation for its strict adherence to criteria governing care services that ensure patient safety.

    Requirements for participating in the program are:

    1. All respiratory therapists employed by the hospital to deliver bedside respiratory care services are either legally recognizes by the state as competent to provide such services or hold the CRT or RRT credential.

    2. Respiratory therapists are available 24/7.

    3. Other personnel qualified to perform specific respiratory procedures and the amount of supervision required for personnel to carry our specific procedures must be designated in writing.

    4. Hospital policy prohibits the routine delivery of medicated aerosol treatments utilizing small volume nebulizers, metered dose inhalers or intermittent positive pressure treatments to multiple patients simultaneously.

    5. A doctor of medicine or osteopathy is designated as medical director of respiratory care services.

    6. Use a process that periodically compares performance of the respiratory therapy department on efficiency and quality metrics with similar departments for the purpose of identifying and achieving best practice.


    The program grew out of concerns among health care leaders and the general public regarding the safety and quality of services provided to patients. Over 700 hospitals or approximately 15 percent of the hospitals in the United States who have applied for QRCR have received this award. Select Specialty Hospital – Kansas City will retain the designation for one year.